It was just a matter of time before horse racing went back to the future. In the first ever Triple Crown showdown, Secretariat wins the virtual reality version of Kentucky Derby 2020.

Secretariat in the Kentucky Derby: A 'Virtual' Lock

Robert Lafaye | May 16, 2020

Triple Crown Showdown - Post positions, odds, and a bit of history

1 Affirmed Steve Cauthen 5-1
Won the 1978 Kentucky Derby on his way to sweeping the Triple Crown over Alydar in each of the three jewels of American racing.
2 Assault Mehrtens 20-1
Sire Bold Venture won the first two legs of the 1936 running of the Triple Crown, but bowed a tendon prior to the Belmont and was retired to stand stud. Assault was foaled in 1943 at King Ranch in Texas. He made his racing debut in 1945 finishing 12th, before taking the Wood Memorial on his way to sweeping victories in Kentucky, Maryland, and New York.
3 Secretariat Ron Turcotte 7-2
4 Sir Barton Johnny Loftus 20-1
It's been 101 years since Sir Barton won the first running of the Kentucky Derby in 1919. Trained by Guy Bedwell and ridden by Johnny Loftus, Sir Barton raced in the name and colors of Canadian J.K.L. Ross after being sold by breeders John Madden and Vivian Gooch for $10,000. While winning the three race test consisting of the Kentucky Derby, Preakness, and Belmont, the term "Triple Crown" was not yet coined in 1919. Sir Barton was posthumously recognized as America's first Triple Crown winner of what we now know as the Triple Crown. Read more on the history of Sir Barton at
5 Seattle Slew Cruguet 5-1
First ever horse to enter the starting gate undefeated in the 1977 Kentucky Derby, he crossed the finish line first in all three legs to become the only undefeated Triple Crown winner to that point. Trained by Billy Turner for Taylor Farms, Mickey and Karen Taylor, and Jim and Sally Hill, Seattle Slew surpassed $1 million in lifetime earnings for his connections. His front-running style made him a fan favorite on track. And his legacy lives on in modern times online at
6 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza 6-1
Opened at 6-1 in morning line odds for this virtual matchup of Triple Crown greats. He snapped 37 years of waiting with a decisive victory in the 2015 Belmont Stakes for Bob Baffert, the modern day marvel of thoroughbred training prowess. Campaigned by Zayat Stables, the son of Pioneer of the Nile went on to win over $8.6 million and closed out an illustrious career on his way to Coolmore's Ashford Stud in Kentucky. TwinSpires' profile of American Pharoah
7 Gallant Fox Earl Sande 20-1
Best know for being the second colt to win the Triple Crown in 1930 in a year when the Preakness was run before the Derby. But even more interesting is the fact that he also sired a TC winning 3YO named Omaha. After a less than stellar two-year-old season, Hall of Fame trainer Sunny Jim Fitzsimmons lured jockey Earl Sande out of retirement to ride the bay colt known as "The Fox of Belair" through a seven race win streak that began in the Wood Memorial in New York. But on the eighth time the two champs took to the track, they were met with an unexpected eight length defeat to 100-1 priced Jim Dandy in the 1930 Travers at Saratoga.
8 Citation 4-1
9 War Admiral 8-1
10 Whirlaway 6-1
11 Count Fleet 6-1
12 Justify 15-1
13 Omaha 20-1

Fleet of 13 Kentucky Derby Winners in Virtual Triple Crown Showdown

The official order of finish

TwinSpires has produced an interesting historical reference of all 13 Triple Crown winners. Download the PDF.

Racing Updates
  • Kentucky Derby
  • Triple Crown
  • Breeders' Cup
  • Pegasus World Cup
  • Horse Racing News
  • Top Headlines
TVG Offer